I’m rightfully shouting from the rooftops I’M BACK! After a month-long hiatus while I got settled into my new job, new state, and new digs (an apartment for right now), I’m returning to the blogging world. Thank you for your patience. As promised, here’s a picture of my boxes of books from the move:

Image

The three stacks right most stacks of boxes are books, the far left one was other things. Don’t ask me what, I can’t remember what was in them, and they have since all … well mostly all… been unpacked, Now, on to our regularly scheduled program (if I can figure out how this new WordPress design works)

Sunday Shout Outs are usually spent sharing sites and sights that I found interesting. For instance Forbes Magazine just released their list of top earning authors. Surprise, surprise, James Patterson is in the top with 94 million, almost exclusively in print sales. Previous readers will remember that I have no love lost on James Patterson, who just last year “wrote” 14 books with I’m sure plenty of assistance from co-writers. But the article really is about the change in the number of women on the list, as the ratio of men to women is almost 50/50 (actually 6 to 9, but who’s counting?) Rounding out the top fifteen are:

James Patterson (94 million), Stephen King (39 million), Janet Evanovich (33 million), John Grisham (26 million), Jeff Kinney (25 million), Bill O’Reilly (24 million), Nora Roberts (23 million), Danielle Steel (23 million), Suzanne Collins (20 million), Dean Koontz (19 million), J.K. Rowling (17 million), George R.R. Martin (15 million), Stephenie Meyer (14 million), Ken Follett (14 million), Rick Riordan (13 million)

Book Riot offered up a possible spin on the ancient task of recommending books: Twitter Readers Advisory. Library Journal had an article last summer about reader’s advisory through Facebook, so I guess it was only time until someone tried it using Twitter personas. But while Book Riot’s Twitter attempt did it on a much smaller scale (being only one person), Multnomah County Library and now Cuyahoga County Public Library each answered over a 100 questions using a team of librarians to field the requests for suggestions. I’d love to do this kind of thing at my library for the children’s or teen department, either around the holidays or during some big event, like kicking off Summer Reading or Children’s Book Week. Obviously I need to sort out logistics, but have any of my readers done something similar?

A very cool site that I found through another library is thisissand.com While a little vague with instructions, you quickly gain the hang of it. Clicking the mouse produces sand that trickles down to the bottom of the screen from where you clicked the mouse. It accumulates into piles just like sand, and you can move the mouse around to redirect the sand. Click on the only button on the left hand corner, and it will tell you how to change the color of the sand, as well as erase the picture, save the photo, or upload it to the forum. Be careful, because while most of the artwork is benign in nature (picture those sand sculptures that were popular 20 years ago) the “Sort by View Count” feature brings up several drawings of nude people and phallic symbols, which are NOT appropriate for children. Use your best judgement when determining if it’s right for your community, as that feature has me hesitating to include it on our list.

Do you have a site you want me to shout out? Let me know in the comments. Otherwise, tune in again soon for more books reviews, library programs, and of course shout outs. Until then, I’m peace out.

