According to Chase’s Calendar, March 23rd is National Puppy Day. Although obviously not as well-known as maybe President’s Day or Thanksgiving, I thought it was a great opportunity to make a display for the month of March. The last couple years we’ve featured books with colors in the title with the theme “Reading through the Rainbow”, but thought we’d give that theme a rest this year and try something new. (I’ll try to find the picture that I know I took of that display and post it in the future.)

Since I can’t draw, a coworker of mine drew for me giant dalmatian dogs Pongo and Perdy from Disney’s 101 Dalmatians. They served as “book ends” for a giant display case. We lined the case with white paper (the kind that comes in giant rolls) and then put colored paper behind the dalmatian cut-outs so they stood out from the white. We traced a pot lid onto black paper (the 11×17 size) and cut out black dots to scatter throughout the display. We also added some more black dots in smaller sizes, to provide dimension and contrast and just visual interest. Because the shelves for the display case are hard to install with a background paper, and because we only have so many shelves, we printed out color copies of books about dogs and stapled them up in the display case. The finished product looks amazing and I have to thank my coworker for completing the installation of it since we ran out of time and I was at a training meeting all the next day. Some of you might be able to identify the library by the display space, but I’m so proud of these that I love being able to share them with other people. There are sliding glass panels that somewhat obstruct the picture, but you get the general idea.

We’re also using this display to promote our program where kids can sign up to read to a certified therapy dog. Without further ado, our display, titled “Spot a Doggone Good Book”:

Due to the overabundance of dog books out there, I don’t think I really need to make a list. We were hard pressed to limit the number, as just off the top of my head I can think of Marley, Tintin’s Snowy, Clifford, Spot, Houndsley, Lassie, Ribsy, Dan and Ann in Where the Red Fern Grows, Call of the Wild, and Old Yeller.

