At one of the libraries I work at, I share responsibility for changing out the display spaces, a task that I absolutely LOVE. Even though I’m not artistic in the least bit, I have a lot of opportunities to do a play on words or puns and utilize my computer skills. Oh, Clip Art and Google Images, how I love thee, let me count the ways. Sometimes though, it’s as easy as copy and paste.

For instance, my latest and greatest creation: Eye Catching Books!

The titles pictured include (from left to right, top to bottom):
Island by Gordon Korman
There are no cats in this book by Viviane Schwarz
Walls Within Walls by Maureen Sherry
The Silver Bowl by Diane Stanley
Last Dragon Chronicles series by Chris D’Lacey (Fire Within, IceFire, Fire Star, The Fire Eternal, Dark Fire, and Fire World) I couldn’t just choose one, since they are all so unique and different and beautiful.
Dinomummy : the Life, Death, and Discovery of Dakota, a Dinosaur from Hell Creek by Phillip Lars Manning
The Concise Dinosaur Encyclopedia by David Burnie
Paint by Magic by Kathryn Reiss
Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Buckley-Archer (The title was changed to Time Travelers, which is much less original in my opinion, and the cover of the new book won’t fit the theme, but the original book has a gorgeous cover.)
Pirate’s Eye by Robert Priest
Time Flies by Eric Rohmann
Flotsam by David Wiesner
Cool painting : the Art of Creativity for Kids by Anders Hanson
Permanent Rose by Hilary McKay
The Capture by Kathryn Lasky
Go Away Big Green Monster by Ed Emberly
I Spy with My Little Eye by Edward Gibbs
Catalina Magdalena Hoopensteiner Wallendiner Hogan Logan Bogan Was Her Name by Arnold, Tedd
Cleopatra rules! : the Amazing Life of the Original Teen Queen by Vicky Shecter
Face to Face with Frogs by Mark W. Moffett
Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson
Dream of Night by Heather Henson
More Life-Size Zoo by Teruyuki Komiya
The Magic School Bus Explores the Senses by Joanna Cole
Cleopatra by Adèle Geras

I had one of the pages help me with this one. For about a month, any time she ran across a cover with an eye on it, she’d show it to me before shelving it so I could record the title and author. Then, when I had a good list, I copied the cover art from our online catalog and pasted them into a Publisher document, enlarging it so each cover had its own page (except for the dragon series, which I made smaller in order to include them all). I printed them on the color printer and trimmed the edges. The letters were made from our die-cuts (wonderful device, die-cuts), but you could always create your own bubble letters to fit the size you need. There were a few other titles that we found, but I ran out of room so I picked the ones that enlarged and printed the clearest.

Personally, I think this was one of my most sucessful displays, as quite a few people asked for books from the bulletin board and even more stopped to look and admire the collection of titles.

I’ll be featuring more of my bulletin board displays from now on. For now, are you responsible for the display space in your library, and what has been your favorite bulletin board display?

