May is apparently National Egg Month, and May 14th is Dance Like a Chicken Day. So all this week, this “chick” is featuring chickens! Yesterday I presented Tough Chicks by Cece Meng. Today, we’re Counting Chickens!

Title: Counting Chickens
Author: Harriet Ziefert
Illustrator: Flensted Mobiles
ISBN: 9781609050337
Pages: Picture Book
Publisher/Date: Blue Apple Books, c2010.
Publication Date: November 3, 2010

This is an interesting book, meaning that I’m not quite sure what to make of it. I loved the illustrations, which are mobiles by Flensted Mobiles. The pictures just seemed to jump off the page and had a three-dimensional quality that had me rubbing the pictures thinking they were lift the flap or pop-up. My favorites include the elephants, the penguins, and the whales.

The text however, makes it slightly problematic. The cover recommends it for ages two and up, although I’m not sure if two-year olds would understand the concept of counting in twos and threes and performing simple addition and subtraction equations. I do like how they explain those concepts, with animals of different colors so young mathematicians might be able to benefit from reading it. Overall however, I felt as if this was a marketing attempt by the company, and I really see this what we call an “additional” purchase for most libraries and people. If you want a counting book, there are better ones out there.

