START YOUR ENGINES!
Get reved up, because Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-Thon has begun! I’m excited!!! I’m actually prepared, as I have a huge stack of books checked out of my library that have been languishing. I took the day off work, and my head cold kind of prevents me from doing anything else. ALTHOUGH…. Mem Fox (yes, THE Mem Fox) is going to be in the area… author discussions count towards the 24 hours, right? Right?! I’ll see if I can stop sneezing and sniffling for more than an hour.

In the meantime… BOOKS!
Edit: Oh, and Mini-Challenge (just like mini-wheats, they start the day off right)

Where are you reading from today? My house. Probably bedroom for the beginning of the day, and then move to the living room and basement. If it warms up, I’ll move outside and enjoy the fall weather.

3 facts about me …
I’m valiantly fighting a head cold and have slept about 18 hours in the last two days.
I have about 40 books checked out of the library, with about as many ARCs from ALA calling my name.
I’m a children’s and teen librarian at two different libraries, and I got the day off both jobs just for this challenge, which is my first 24-hour read-a-thon.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
Realistically, I’m hoping to get through six. We’ll see what strikes my fancy and how many times I get interrupted by my parents. They include:
Wish by Alexandra Bullen
13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison
Six Rules of Maybe by Deb Calletti
The search for WondLa by Tony Diterlizzi
Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill
and to mix things up, and audiobook of Peter and the Sword of Mercy by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson (although I might abandon that one, because it takes me so much longer to get through an audiobook)

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
I’m hoping for a good solid 15 hours of reading (since my author visit might not count as reading… any verdict from the judges/cheerleaders?) and at least six books.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?
I’m looking forward to my first read-a-thon!

Oh, if anyone is interested in sponsoring me, I’d love to be able to give a donation to the American Cancer Society in honor of my Great Aunt Julie, who passed away from lung and breast cancer. It is Breast Cancer Awareness Month in October. Just shoot me an e-mail or leave me a comment with your pledge!

Best of luck to all in your reading goals!

