Ok, so I took a breather, but that was only because my parents were offering up steak and potatoes for dinner if I emptied the dishwasher. Who could pass that up, especially after the finger foods I’ve been eating all day?

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Just finished Dirty Little Secrets by C. J. Omololu. Next on my list is Wish by Alexandra Bullen
2. How many books have you read so far? A paltry 2, because the first one was almost 500 pages (yes, I’m still using that excuse)
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? This wasn’t on my reading list originally, but looking at my TBR pile I’m finding Jump by Elisa Carbone is calling my name.
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I took the day off from both jobs. Not an easy task to coordinate, and I’ll pay for it dearly with the next two weekends.
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? Actually, I’ve had suprisingly few interruptions, probably because I warned my family in advance that I’d be doing this.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How little I’ve actually read. And that I took the time to shower, but then never made it to the author discussion.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? So far so good. This is my first one, so I don’t have a lot to compare it.
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I realized I’m having difficulty keeping track of my hours actually read, so I went online and found a GINORMOUS stop watch to help keep track of my time more accurately for this second half of the read-a-thon. There’s also a Split Lap version, so you could start it at your reading time, hit split when you switch to blogging, and then hit split again when you switch to reading again and continue that all day, doing the math when you’re done.
9. Are you getting tired yet? I actually am getting a little bored, which I didn’t think would happen. I think that’s my biggest problem now, is staying motivated to finish a couple more books before bed. I probably should have gone to the library while it was open so I wouldn’t be suffering from cabin fever late in the game.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? I think I should have listened to everyone else and picked a shorter book in the beginning. Then I probably wouldn’t feel so discouraged comparing numbers with everyone.

Half-Way Update
Number of books: 2
Number of pages: 477 + 212 = 689
Number of hours: 5 + 2.5 = 7.5 hours

