The final day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week is here.

The BBAW Content Development Team is proud to announce our theme for 2010: A Treasure Chest of Infinite Books and Infinite Blogs. You’ll probably be stuffing your google reader with the new blogs you discover next week and piling onto your bookshelves with all the great books we’ll be talking about!

Friday—Future Treasures
We’ve been visiting each other and getting to know each other better…now is your chance to share what you enjoyed about BBAW and also what your blogging goals are for the next year!

What have I enjoyed and what am I going to do? Wow. I’ve probably put the most thought into this post out of this whole week of posts. I’ve always been leery about personal information and the internet. And, in my opinion, rightly so, as I know people who have experienced problems that can come with identity theft and “stalkers”. I don’t do online banking, I don’t share my personal information online. My first year of blogging, I stayed in my own little corner of the Internet, happily reviewing books and occasionally taking a look at some other blogs.

This year, I’ve challenged myself to think outside the box. I joined Kidlitosphere and Goodreads, attended ALA Conference for the first time, signed up for ARC tours (after first finding out what they are) and I started soliciting author interviews. Joining BBAW seemed like a natural next step in my journey to become more involved in blogging. 

BBAW has exposed me to so many bloggers. Looking at these blogs and listening to the discussion on Kidlitosphere has made me realize that if I want to make friends, I have to play nice with others. I have to be willing to say “HI” first. So I hope everyone reading this considers this a virtual “HI” and an extended handshake. I feel like a broken record, because every post I’ve read for today talks about the new blogs or books that they’ve discovered this past week. But wasn’t that the whole point? I think, in that case, the week was a complete success and my hats off to the organizers (Yes, hatS. Picture the gentleman in the picture book Caps for Sale.)

On that note, I’m making a few goals for myself for the coming year:

  • Start commenting on blogs. Make at least one comment a week. I’m routinely blown away by the dedication that bloggers show to their subjects and the discussions that are sparked, and I realized I should be jumping into these conversations.
  • Spend some time featuring and looking at other blogs. I’ve noticed that some bloggers spread the love they have for other bloggers, and I’m really keen on trying that in the near future. Plus, I love some of the names that bloggers have given their blogs! You ladies and gentlemen are just too creative for your own good.
  • Re-introduce myself to the people I introduced myself to at ALA. I’ve been horrible at this. Completely horrible, and I plan to rectify this situation… this weekend. What good are business cards and contacts if you don’t use them and appreciate them? Bloggers talk about sending reviews to publishers and authors, and I need to look into how to do that.
  • Take a look at upcoming books. Goodreads should help me with this, but I’m thinking of participating in something like the Waiting on Wednesdays that I see several bloggers participating in.
  • And one final goal is to start planning my review schedule. Some bloggers are absolutely wonderful with events, like The Mountains of Instead’s Zombie Week, The Story Siren’s LGBT Lit Days. I’m sure it takes a lot of work, a lot of coordination, and a LOT of help from other authors. While I’m nervous about putting something like this together, I’m looking forward to the challenge of doing something like this in the next 12 months. If anyone’s interested in hosting a special subject week, feel free to contact me.

So, what have you learned and what are you going to do differently?

