Continuing the trend for this week is my participation in Book Blogger Appreciation Week.

The BBAW Content Development Team is proud to announce our theme for 2010: A Treasure Chest of Infinite Books and Infinite Blogs. You’ll probably be stuffing your google reader with the new blogs you discover next week and piling onto your bookshelves with all the great books we’ll be talking about!

Wednesday—Unexpected Treasure
We invite you to share with us a book or genre you tried due to the influence of another blogger. What made you cave in to try something new and what was the experience like?

I going to bend the rules slightly here. The most recent book that I read that was completely out of my normal reading habits was The Help by Kathryn Stockett. It was recommended to me by my supervisor, and although she occasionally writes reviews for School Library Journal, she does not have a blog. I read mostly young adult books, especially because of my committee work for a young adult award. But it just proves that you have to keep an open mind about these things sometimes, because you might be missing something spectacular. But I skeptically placed the hold, and I’m glad I waited those long months for the audiobook, because it was well worth the wait.

The most recent book that I read based on a review would be Hot Rod Hamster by Cynthia Lord, which I’m pretty sure I first heard about on Linda Urban’s blog. I throughly enjoyed A Crooked Kind of Perfect and Rules, although the reviews don’t really do either book justice because I was just starting to blog and learning how to express my love for books. But when I saw that both authors had a picture book out, I had to take a look. Now again, I’m a chapter book kind of girl, so picture books have never really been my thing. Because of story times though, I’m re-learning the joy that picture books can hold, and both Hot Rod Hamster (by Cynthia Lord) and Mouse was Mad (by Linda Urban) are gems.

