Something new for this week! I’m participating for the first time in Book Blogger Appreciation Week.

The BBAW Content Development Team is proud to announce our theme for 2010: A Treasure Chest of Infinite Books and Infinite Blogs. You’ll probably be stuffing your google reader with the new blogs you discover next week and piling onto your bookshelves with all the great books we’ll be talking about!

Tuesday—New Treasure—Interview Swap
Post the interview you did with your assigned BBAW Interview Partner.

Without further ado, I give you Jennifer from Girls Gone Reading. And if you’re interested in learning more about me, here’s my answers to the questions Jennifer posed.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself.
Besides being a blogger, I am a high school English teacher in the Midwest, and the mother of a four year old. Both of those other “hats” keep me pretty busy, but very happy.

2. When and why did you start blogging?
I just started blogging this spring/summer. My first post went up in April, and so far it has been going better than expected. I am already overrun with books, reading more than I was before, and really enjoying my new hobby.

3. What’s your biggest achievement and biggest regret in terms of your blog?
My biggest accomplishment has just been getting publishers to talk to me or contact me. My blog is really new, so the fact that I know have a platform to talk to authors/publishers is really exciting to me.

My biggest regret…too long to list. I am still learning, so I regret all the computer glitches that I made early on that I am just figuring out. Self publishing is tricky sometimes-once I lost the whole site-but I feel even geekier now that I am starting to get it.

4. Do you participate in anything special (Nonfiction Mondays, Waiting on Wednesdays, author interviews, etc)? Do you plan ahead what/when you’re going to blog, and if so how?
I am a huge planner, so I do have a calendar for events that I am going to participate in. I sometimes participate in WWW Wednesday from Should be Reading, and I ran a challenge for Bloggeista. I always have Friday Coffee Chats on my site with Carin from A Little Bookish. Those are my favorites because the discussion that comes out of it is really what I love most about blogging.

5. What do you usually blog about, and how often do you typically blog?Right now I try to blog at least five days a week. I take the weekends off to just focus on reading and spending time with my husband and my daughter. I post reviews two times a week (Tuesday and Thursday), and I work on the book club too.

6. I see that you run a book discussion group online. Can you explain how it works and what inspired you to start it?
I was inspired to start it by the same friend that convinced me to start a blog. I kept talking to her about how I wanted to switch careers. Teaching is draining, and I needed something that was just fun and for me. She suggested that I run a blog and online book club. The Girls Gone Reading Book Club site is exciting because it is totally user driven. The members can read along with me or they can create their own clubs (and leave me out).

So far we have read a couple of books and even had an author join us in our discussion. It is wonderful, and I hope more people check it out. We will be reading Tana French’s IN THE WOODS next.

7. What would you like to accomplish with your blog?
Discussion. One of my favorite things about teaching is that I get to talk to people about what they read and why they love it. Blogging lets me talk to people I would normally never meet. It is fantastic!

8. Do you connect with other bloggers, and if so how? What would you suggest other bloggers do who want to improve their connection?
I am by no means an expert, but I really find that Twitter is a great way to talk to other bloggers. I have asked questions there and gotten lots of responses. I have also just emailed other bloggers when I need help or a boost. They are always very helpful and nice.

9. Which blogs do you follow/admire/convet? What author/book is your favorite?
Wow! My blog is so new that I admire almost everyone else. Jen from Devourer of Books has helped me out A LOT so I admire her a lot. But I have also received help from Michelle at That’s What She Read and Kathy from Bermudaonion comes to my site a lot.

10. How do you feel about negative reviews, and why? How do you react to a book that you absolutely cannot like?

Well, I have trouble with negative reviews. I decided that I would be honest on my blog, so I have posted negative reviews. I don’t believe I should hide negative opinions from my readers, but I do feel very badly about it. I had to DNF one book early on, and I felt horrible for the author and the publisher who sent me the book. It was difficult, but some books just don’t fit with each reader. I think we need to tell the truth about that. I hate it when a blogger loves every book he/she reads. Some books just aren’t good, and some books need to find a different home.

11. Anything else you’d like to share with readers?
Just thanks for reading this whole thing, and I hope we get to talk in cyberspace again soon!

Jennifer, I hope we get to talk again soon as well!

