Title: Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Authors: John Green and David Levithan
ISBN: 9780525421580
Pages: 310 pages
Publisher/Date: Dutton, c2010.

I walk out the door, jog a half block down Clark, and then sit down on the curb and wait for my pulse to slow down.
Which it is just starting to do when my fellow underage Frency’s pilgrim runs up to me and says, “Who are you?”
I stand up then and say, “Um, I’m Will Grayson.”
“W-I-L-L G-R-A-Y-S-O-N?” he says, spelling impossibly fast.
“Uh, yeah,” I say. “Why do you ask?”
The kid looks at me for a second, his head turned like he thinks I might be putting him on, and then finally he says, “Because I am also Will Grayson.” (110)

On that fateful night, with a ineffective fake ID, Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. The two Will Graysons have nothing alike, with one being straight and single and the other being a closeted gay and supposedly meeting up with his internet crush. But a turn of events that no one sees coming forces them to not only confront their alter egos, but come to some self-realizations of their own.

I’m torn as to what to think about this book. I liked straight Will Grayson slightly more than gay Will Grayson, but both were fairly self absorbed people. I think I was most drawn in at the beginning of the book, but when things go from bad, to good, to worse, the book is so full of self-reflection that I think all the charcters took a back seat. While there were some fairly profound statements that came out of the characters mouths, I think what stays with readers (at least me) most is the examination of the various relationships. The convoluted courtship that occurs makes you step back and re-examine where you are and what you’re doing in your own life. Maybe that was the intention?

In actuality, I didn’t think any of these relationships were really all that healthy. Gay Will ends up dating Tiny Cooper, a gay friend of straight Will. Just that sentence alone should show how convoluted and intertwined these relationships are. While there is obviously a lot of focus on the Wills (since they’re the narrators of the stories), I think Tiny is the one to blame when both relationship hit their bumpy roads. Tiny seems to take advantage of straight Will, forcing him to fight Tiny’s fights and stand up to bullies. As a result, straight Will gets teased and taunted. Tiny is seems oblivious to Will Grayson’s feelings about being essentially replaced in their friendship by someone with the same name. Talk about an identity crisis! In the midst of creating an autobiographical musical (yes, you read that right), Tiny is oblivious to straight Will’s feelings regarding a character in the play obviously based off him. Tiny also seems to be in love with being in love, which is never addressed. He actually gets upset when gay Will tries to point that out, saying that “some variation of this always happens”.

Tiny seems to steal the show (pardon the pun) from both Wills. Both Will Graysons are such bundles of nerves and feelings that they’re hard to follow. While it’s brought up that they had good reason for acting the way they do, the Wills are still the ones who end up apologizing and resuming disastisfying behaviors. I have a hard time accepting that no one else was at fault AND that either Will Grayson was wrong in reacting the way they do.

