ALA announced the top books, audiobooks, and videos for children and young adults for 2010 on Monday. And here I thought we were just celebrating Martin Luther King Jr.’s Birthday! Silly Me. So, I’m obviously late in posting, but here are the highlights:

John Newbery Medal
Winner: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Honor: Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
Honor: The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
Honor: Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
Honor: The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

Randolph Caldecott Medal
Winner: The Lion and the Mouse illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney
Honor: All the World illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon
Honor: Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman
*The ironic thing about this announcement is that I had just placed an order for The Lion and the Mouse for our folklore and fables collection, because our picture book librarian hadn’t ordered it like I thought she would. Well, now she’ll have to!

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults
Winner: Going Bovine by Libba Bray
Honor: Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
Honor: The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
Honor: Punkzilla by Adam Rapp
Honor: Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author
Winner: Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson
Honor: Mare’s War by tanita s. davis

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award recognizing an African American
Winner: My People illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr, written by Langston Hughes
Honor: The Negro Speaks of Rivers illustrated by E. B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes
*Does anyone else see the irony that Langston Hughes wrote both of the books that won for their illustrations?

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award
Winner: The Rock and the River by kekla magoon

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement *New Award*
Winner: Walter Dean Myers
*Highly agree with this one. He is a wonderful author.

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino illustrator whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
Winner: Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El día de los niños/El día de los libros illustrated by Rafael López, written by Pat Mora
Honor: Diego: Bigger Than Life illustrated by David Diaz, written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand
Honor: My Abuelita illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Tony Johnston
Honor: Gracias Thanks illustrated by John Parra, written by Pat Mora

Pura Belpré (Author) Award honoring a Latino author whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience
Winner: Return to Sender by Julia Alvarez
Honor: Diego: Bigger Than Life by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz
Honor: Federico García Lorca by Georgina Lázaro, illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience
Winner ages 0 to 10: Django written and illustrated by Bonnie Christensen
Winner ages 11-13: Anything but Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin
Winner ages ages 13-18: Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

William C. Morris Award honors a book written by a first-time author for young adults
Winner: Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

Odyssey Award for Excellence in audiobook production
Winner: Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken written by Kate DiCamillo and narrated by Barbara Rosenblat
Honor: In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber written by L. A. Meyer and narrated by Katherine Kellgren
Honor: Peace, Locomotion written by Jacqueline Woodson and narrated by Dion Graham
Honor: We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball written by Kadir Nelson and narrated by Dion Graham
*Again, a repeat of names, this time being the narrator Dion Graham. He must be doing something right. It actually makes me laugh that something like We Are the Ship, which won a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor last year for the illustrations, gets made into an audio book where there are no illustrations.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Awar for most distinguished beginning reader book
Winner: Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes
Honor: I Spy Fly Guy! written and illustrated by Tedd Arnold
Honor: Little Mouse Gets Ready written and illustrated by Jeff Smith
Honor: Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends written and illustrated by Wong Herbert Yee
Honor: Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day written by Kate McMullan, illustrated by R. W. Alley

Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults was awarded to Jim Murphy.

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children
Winner: Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Lee Stone
Honor: The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors written by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tony Persiani
Honor: Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 written and illustrated by Brian Floca
Honor: Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
*Irony alert: Two books being recognized cover subjects about the space program. Was it just a coincidence that we celebrated the 40th anniversary of the moon landing last year and these two book were recognized?

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award *New Award*
Winner: Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video
Winner: Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! produced by Paul R. Gagne and Mo Willems. The video is based on the book of the same name written and illustrated by Willems; it was narrated by Willems and Jon Scieszka with animation by Pete List.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book translated from a foreign language and subsequently published in the United States
Winner: A Faraway Island by Annika Thor and translated by Linda Schenck. Originally published in Swedish in 1996 as En ö i havet
Honor: Big Wolf and Little Wolf written by Nadine Brun-Cosme, illustrated by Olivier Tallec, translated by Claudia Bedrick
Honor: Eidi written by Bodil Bredsdorff, translated by Kathryn Mahaffy
Honor: Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness written by Nahoko Uehashi, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, translated by Cathy Hirano

Alex Awards for the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences

  • The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer
  • The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff
  • Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr.
  • The Good Soldiers by David Finkel
  • The Kids Are All Right: A Memoir by Diana Welch and Liz Welch with Amanda Welch and Dan Welch
  • The Magicians by Lev Grossman
  • My Abandonment by Peter Rock
  • Soulless: An Alexia Tarabotti Novel by Gail Carriger
  • Stitches: A Memoir by David Small
  • Tunneling to the Center of the Earth by Kevin Wilson

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award recognizing an author, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature, was awarded to Lois Lowry.

Is it sad that I have read so few of these before the award announcement? I have plans in the future to make a page that lists the award winners and links back to my reviews, so look for that soon.