Pout-pout fishTitle: The Pout-Pout Fish
Author: Deborah Diesen
Illustrator: Dan Hanna
ISBN: 9780374360962
Pages: un-numbered
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux, c2008.

“I’m a pout-pout fish
With a pout-pout face,
So I spread the dreary-wearies
All over the place.”

I absolutely LOVE this book. I discovered several months ago, and have been recommending it ever since. Written by a first time Michigan author, the Library of Michigan has deemed it the Everyone Reads title for 2009, which I am sooo excited about. Every time I read this book, I can’t stop the tune of the Beverly Hillbilles theme song from entering my head, which my coworkers find hillarious. The story tells the tale of the pout-pout fish, who just can’t be happy. All the other fish he runs across encourage him to be happy, but he always answers with the same response, quoted above, and a disheartened “Blub, blub, blub” always follows. This comes with a three columned illustration, which causes the action to move along. Finally, a silver fish plants a kiss on the pout-pout fish, and his frown is turned upside down. The illustrations by Dan Hanna are precious, and the expressions are so detailed that even non-readers will delight. Perfect for story-times, although it’s proven so popular at my library, there is a hold list for our copies, and I haven’t had a chance to use it yet!

