secret-identity-shredderman Title: Secret Identity
Author: Wendelin Van Draanen
Narrator: Daniel Young
ISBN: 9781595197610
Discs: 2 CDs/1 hour 50 minutes
Produced: Live Oaks Media, c2006.

“So that’s Bubba. He calls you names. He steals your stuff. He breathes putrid fumes in your face.
And even though I’ve always wanted to do something about it, I could never figure out what. I’m half Bubba’s size and don’t exactly want to die in elementary school.
So I just eat lunch far away from him, make room when he’s cutting in line, and let him call me Nerd.
It’s not fair, but at least I’m still alive.” (6)

Fifth grader Nolan Byrd is sick and tired of being picked on by school bully Bubba Bixby. In fact, Bubba Bixby picks on everyone at school. Since the teachers and adults can’t seem to help him, Nolan turns into his own superhero. With the help of a digital camera, a computer, and his own website, Nolan becomes “Shredderman”, fighting injustice in his own special way. But how can he keep his identity a secret, especially from his teacher and parents?

I paged through the print version of Secret Identity by Wendelin Van Draanen, and you get some great illustrations by Brian Biggs. What hooked me however was the audiobook version of the series. Eleven year old Daniel Young narrates, giving each character a different voice. He goes higher for Nolan’s mom and classmates, and lower for his dad and other male adults. His Nolan Byrd is pitch perfect, done to the whining “MOM” that every kid is familiar with. I can’t stop raving about the audiobook version, and have been listening to the next books in the series. Part Indiana Jones, part Diary of a Wimpy Kid, part Sherlock Holmes, there are more reviews of the series to come, so stay tuned.

